Mental Health Satellite
Mental Health Satellite

Mental Health Satellite

31 August - 1 September 2024

Rydges Hotel, Queenstown, New Zealand

ConvenorsDr Olivia Harrison and Prof Bruce Russell, University of Otago

One in four people will suffer from mental health issues in any given year, and this statistic is on the rise following the global COVID-19 pandemic. We aim to bring together researchers, clinicians, NGOs and political advisors to discuss the current landscape in Aotearoa New Zealand, and potential strategies to tackle these issues. The Mental Health Satellite meeting will be held over two consecutive days on August 31st and September 1st in Queenstown, New Zealand. With this exciting programme we hope to establish collaborative and cross-disciplinary communication between research and community partners, fostering whakawhanaungatanga (relationship building) to help maximise future research impact. 

The organising committee welcomes oral and poster abstract submissions on all subject areas related to mental health. We would like to encourage participation from any related research, clinical or industry partners to contribute to this collective discussion and exchange of ideas.

Participation in the conference can be utilised for self-recorded hours against Continuing Professional Development for Psychiatrists, General Practitioners, Psychotherapists, Nurses, Physiotherapists and Pharmacists. Please contact us directly if you would like us to investigate whether your discipline would be covered by this accreditation scheme.

Our invited speakers will give their take on the status of mental health in Aotearoa New Zealand, as well as the currently available treatment strategies and exciting avenues for the future. Our current list of confirmed speakers include the following:

  • Dr Miriama Ketu-Mackenzie (Clinical Psychologist; Professional Practice Fellow at the University of Otago; Ngati Raukawa, Ngati Tuwharetoa)

  • Emeritus Professor Robert Kydd (Consultant Psychiatrist; Emeritus Professor at the University of Auckland; Chairperson for the Anxiety NZ Trust)

  • Faumuina Professor Fa'afetai Sopoaga (Public Health Physician; GP; Professor, Director of Va’a o Tautai at the University of Otago; Heath Advisor to the Director General, Ministry of Health, Samoa; member of the Pacific Expert Advisory Group to the NZ Ministry of Health)

  • Dr Ian Soosay (Consultant Psychiatrist; Senior Lecturer at the University of Auckland)

  • Ms Faye Gorman (Registered Psychiatric Nurse and Psychotherapist; Clinical Research Adviser at the University of Otago; Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Kahu)

  • Dr Amanda Clifford (Clinical Psychologist; Lecturer at the University of Otago; Kāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe, Waitaha)

  • Professor Joe Boden (Director of the Christchurch Health and Development Study; Professor at the University of Otago, Christchurch campus)

  • Dr Jacquelyn Elkington (Senior Lecturer, Kōhatu Centre for Hauora Māori at the University of Otago; Ngāti Porou, Tararaa and Waikato)

A more detailed programme will be available in due course. We look forward to seeing you in Queenstown!

Key Dates:
Friday 19 July, 2024
QRW Earlybird Registration Deadline
Monday 1 July, 2024
QRW Abstract Submission Deadline
Friday 19 July, 2024
AWCBR Early Bird Registration.
Monday 24 June, 2024
AWCBR Abstract Submission Deadline
Friday 5 July, 2024
Major Awards Application Deadline
Friday 23 August, 2024
Registrations close
QRW Updates: